Consumers Energy Celebrates 80th Anniversary


Contact Information:
Kippen Glenney, Executive Assistant/Communications Coordinator
Consumers Energy
2074 242nd Street
Marshalltown, IA 50158
Phone: 800-696-6552

Consumers Energy celebrated the cooperative’s 80th Anniversary at its Member Appreciation Breakfast & Annual Business Meeting on Saturday, August 25, 2018, at its headquarters facility in Marshalltown. Over 200 people were served breakfast catered by Katie J’s at the event, enjoyed games, and tested experiments with the Science Center of Iowa. At the business meeting, Directors Edler and Ripley were recognized for their service to Consumers Energy and presented with meter lamps. Elected to three-year terms for the co-op’s Board of Directors were: Dennis “Denny” Beckman of Marshalltown; Robert “Bob” Meimann of Nevada; and Anthony “Tony” Lem of Slater.                     

The Nominating Committee met on May 1, 2018, to begin the nomination process for director candidates to fill the vacancies created by the expiring terms of Jeff Edler, Bob Meimann, and John Ripley. The below-listed candidates were nominated to be voted upon for the election of one director from each of the cooperative’s three districts.

  • District No. 1 for Marshall and Tama Counties: Denny Beckman of Marshalltown; Dale Meyer of Rhodes

  • District No. 2 for Story County:  Harold Ault of Ames; Bob Meimann of Nevada

  • District No. 3 for Jasper and Polk Counties:  Alex Andrade of Ankeny; John Feld of Ankeny; Tony Lem of Slater


Dennis Beckman Bob Meimann Tony Lem

Consumers Energy is an electric cooperative owned by the members we serve. Headquartered in Marshalltown, Iowa, with an outpost in Nevada, Iowa, the cooperative provides reliable, safe, and affordable electric service to over 5,000 members throughout five counties in Central Iowa: Marshall, Story, Polk, Jasper, and Tama.