Directors to Appoint Nominating Committee and Election & Credentials Committee

The Consumers Energy Board of Directors will appoint cooperative members to the Nominating Committee and the Election & Credentials Committee at their March board meeting. The Nominating Committee is tasked with selecting individuals to be placed on the ballot as director candidates in the upcoming director elections. The Nominating Committee also serves as the Election & Credentials Committee that oversees the voting and director election process before and during the Annual Meeting.

The Articles of Incorporation of Consumers Energy state that the Board of Directors must appoint a Nominating Committee to select individuals as director candidates to be placed on the ballot and voted on at the Annual Business Meeting on Saturday, August 28, 2021, at the cooperative’s headquarters located at 2074 242nd Street, Marshalltown. The Nominating Committee’s initial meeting will be held in May.

The Election & Credentials Committee shall have available to it the advice of legal counsel provided by the cooperative. The committee’s decision on any voting process issue is final, as reflected by a majority vote of the committee members present and voting.

Consumers Energy’s directors whose terms expire in 2021 are:

  • District No. 1 for Marshall, Jasper, and Tama Counties:Denny Beckman
  • District No. 2 for Story County:Bob Meimann
  • District No. 3 for Polk County:Tony Lem

Members who wish to submit nominees for director candidates are encouraged to send their suggestions to arrive at the cooperative office by May 3, 2021, by any of these means:

Consumers Energy
Attn: Nominating Committee
2074 242nd Street
Marshalltown, IA 50158

CEO/General Manager
Bridget Itzen at 641-754-1649
Executive Assistant/Communications Coordinator
Kippen Glenney at 641-754-1646

Being a member of a cooperative means that every member has a voice and the right to vote. Attend the Annual Business Meeting on Saturday, August 28, 2021, to vote in person or vote by mail using the ballot you will receive in August with your Notice of the Annual Business Meeting of Members.