Scholarship Opportunities to Dependents of Members


Contact Person:       

Tami Kerwood, Member Service Representative
Consumers Energy
2074 242nd Street
Marshalltown, IA 50158
Phone: 800-696-6552

January 18, 2021 – MARSHALLTOWN, IA – Consumers Energy annually awards $1,000 scholarships to recognize and encourage the achievements of students in our service area.

In addition, Consumers Energy typically offers the chance to take a FREE trip of a lifetime with the Iowa Youth Tour to Washington, D.C. Prior to the pandemic, Iowa’s not-for-profit electric cooperatives had been sending high school students to Washington, D.C., every June since 1958!

Due to the ongoing pandemic, the 2021 Youth Tour trip has been canceled. In light of this, Consumers Energy has opted to convert this year’s Youth Tour contest to a scholarship opportunity. Applications for the Youth Tour are still being accepted, and the winner will be presented with a $1,000 scholarship.

In order to apply for this opportunity, complete and submit the application for the 2021 Youth Tour. Consumers Energy’s other scholarship opportunities are still available.

The Youth Tour and academic scholarships are limited to dependents of members of Consumers Energy. The lineworker scholarship is available to any Iowa resident who is pursuing a career in the power industry.

When it is safe to resume large group travel again, Consumers Energy plans to annually award this ALL-EXPENSES-PAID trip to Washington, D.C., to deserving students. On the tour, students learn about electric cooperatives, American history, and U.S. government. They walk away with a greater understanding of their roles as American citizens, participate in National Youth Day, visit with their elected legislators, and explore the sights around the nation’s capital.

Applications for Consumers Energy’s scholarship opportunities are available at under the Community dropdown or by contacting the program coordinator, Tami Kerwood, at 800-696-6552 or

Consumers Energy is an electric cooperative owned by the members we serve. Headquartered in Marshalltown, Iowa, with an outpost in Nevada, Iowa, the cooperative provides reliable, safe, and affordable electric service to over 5,000 members throughout five counties in Central Iowa: Marshall, Story, Polk, Jasper, and Tama. Learn more at